IMG_20140916_GerardKatherineWe are delighted to welcome a couple of new faces to the team. Katherine Mackinnon joins us as or part time Volunteer Develoment Officer working on the Glasgow WAVE Project and Gerard Espie joins us as a student placement from Glasgow University.

It’s great to have additonal people on board and bringing with them some fresh ideas about how we work and we are really looking forward to working with them over the coming months.

We caught up with them both to find out a wee bit more about them and see how they were settling in after their first few weeks with us! First up was Katherine…

Hello! I’m Katherine, the new Volunteer Development Officer for the Glasgow WAVE project. 

I’ll be working with DRCET, The Whiteinch Centre and LINKES to develop and promote new volunteering opportunities, share good practice and generally keep people informed about the wide range of ways to get involved. 

Volunteers NeededVolunteering can lead to great experiences – one of the most interesting activities I’ve done as a volunteer recently was conducting a bat count on the canal at Dalmuir. A truly terrifying experience was the time I helped out with an English language music festival at a university in Colombia, and when one of the bands dropped out unexpectedly I found myself fronting a volunteer karaoke group tackling ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ in front of a large (and confused) crowd…

Closer to home there’s something for everyone, from bike repair to toddlers groups, marketing to composting. No singing required (unless you want to). 

Look out on this site for updates on upcoming events and opportunities, or if you want to find out more about volunteering you can drop me a line at katherine@dumbartonroad.com

Next up was Gerard…

I’m Gerard, I’ve just started a placement with the DRCET as part of my final year studying ‘Community Development’ at Glasgow University. During 3rd year placements the University has asked students, such as myself, to look to broaden their horizons and gain new experience working in a different community setting or context.

20140903_Wheatley_Kingsway_10My experience in community work has centred around working together with young people (aged 12-19 years). Since summer 2011, I’ve been employed as a youth worker with the DRC Youth Project. During this time I’ve been predominantly based in Yoker and Scotstoun. You may have spied my face (and dodgy haircut) pottering around the ‘Heart of Scotstoun’ or ‘Yoker Community Campus’.

Previously, I’ve participated in small pieces of volunteering with the DRCET but I really have no prior experience tackling environmental issues. It’s a whole new world of community work which I’ve only just begun to dip my toes into. Over the next 9 months I’m really looking forward to learning more about what environmental issues local people are most passionate about. I also hope to gain an understanding of how best to tackle these challenges together with the community and the DRCET.