stork-with-baby-clip-art-207235Last week Katherine, our Volunteer Development Officer, headed off on maternity leave (we’ll keep you posted when we hear any news) and we welcomed Sarah Burgess as her maternity cover. We caught up with Sarah to find out a wee bit more about her and her thoughts on the new job…

“I’m Sarah and I’ve just joined DRCET as Volunteer Development Officer, covering Katherine’s maternity leave.  I’m new to Glasgow having moved here 3 weeks ago after living in Dublin for 7 years where I was working in a local volunteer centre, promoting and supporting volunteering.”

“I’m passionate about volunteering and am excited to be working here at DRCET;  whilst I’ve been involved in volunteering, either personally or professionally for a very long time now, it has been a while since I’ve either been on a bike or done any practical conservation or gardening so I’m looking forward to getting stuck into the various DRCET projects.”

“I’ll be continuing Katherine’s work on the Glasgow WAVE Project with DRCET, LINKES and DRC Generations developing and promoting new volunteering opportunities in the local area. And I’m looking forward to learning more about the local organisations and the local community as well as Glasgow as a whole, through my work.  As well as keeping people informed about the wide range of ways they can get involved in volunteering locally, I’ll be helping organisations share good practice in volunteering to try and ensure that anyone who volunteers has a good experience.”

WAVE_Volunteer_Map“I’m really impressed with the Glasgow WAVE Volunteer Map and can’t wait to catch up with the organisations that feature on it.  If you’re a local organisation that is looking for volunteers and you aren’t currently on the map, please get in touch. If you want to do some volunteering then check out the map or the opportunities currently available with DRCET or contact me to arrange to have a chat about how to get involved.”

You can contact Sarah on 07943 080593 or sarah@dumbartonroad.com

Glasgow_WAVE_Partners_Logo_2