What-do-you-thinkThe Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland (LGBCS) has published its proposals for ward boundaries for each of Scotland’s 32 councils, for public consultation until Thursday 22 October 2015.  The proposals can be inspected at www.lgbc-scotland.gov.uk or at a number of display points throughout Scotland.

The proposals for wards in Glasgow City Council area present an electoral arrangement for 85 councillors representing 7 3-member wards and 16 4-member wards, increasing the number of wards in the area by 2 and increasing councillor numbers in the area by 6 which generates significant change. An overview of the proposals for Glasgow are shown below.

In terms of the local area the proposed changes include:

  • Changing the boundary between Ward 13 Garscadden/Scotstounhill and Ward 12 Partick West in the Whiteinch/Scotstoun area
  • Reducing the geographical size of Ward 12 Partick West and reducing the number of Councillors in the Ward by 1 in part creating a new Ward 23 Dowanhill/Kelvindale
  • Potential changes to the community council boundaries in particular between Scotstoun and Whiteinch.NewBoundariesSection

The proposals for the Glasgow City Council area:
  • improve overall forecast parity;
  • address forecast disparities in wards 9, 10, 11, 12, 17 and 21;
  • make no changes to wards 1, 4, 14 and 19;
  • increase the number of councillors by 1 in each of wards 6, 7, 9 and 17;
  • reduce the number of councillors by 1 in each of wards 11, 12 (Partick West), 15, 20 and 21;
  • introduce 2 new wards: ward 22 (Dennistoun) and ward 23 (Dowanhill/Kelvindale);
  • rename the following wards: ward 10 (Anderston/City/Yorkhill), ward 15 (Maryhill), and ward 17 (Springburn/Robroyston); and
  • take into account “neighbourhood” local area geographies used by Glasgow City Council.

A map of the proposed Ward boundaries (in red) overlaid with the current Community Council boundaries (in blue) can be downloaded from the Glasgow City Council website

Comments on the proposals can be submitted by using the comments facility on the LGBCS website www.consultation.lgbc-scotland.gov.uk, by email to lgbcs@scottishboundaries.gov.uk; or in writing to them at Thistle Hotel, 91 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh, EH1 5HD.  Please see their website for more details or follow LGBCS on Twitter @lgbcs