The list of candidates for Glasgow in the forthcoming Scottish local government elections has been published on the Council’s website.

The elections will be held on Thursday 4 May 2017 and will see 85 councillors elected from 23 wards. A total of 209 candidates from twelve parties along with 14 independents will contest the elections.

To be eligible to vote in the elections you need to be registered by Monday 17 April 2017. You can register on line at

In the local area 10 candidates are vying for the 4 positions in Ward 13 Garscadden/Scotstounhill and 7 candidates are vying for the 3 positions in the new Ward 12 Victoria Park. The candidates for the two wards are shown below and we have included links to their Twitter feed where possible.

You can view information for all candidates for all 23 Glasgow Wards on the Council’s website. and the #WalkCycleVote campaign have developed a really useful ‘Find your candidate’ feature on their website.

Ward 12 Victoria Park (made up of Whiteinch, Jordanhill, Broomhill and Thornwood community councils areas)

  • Ade Aibinu (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) @GlasgowTories
  • Feargal Dalton (Scottish National Party (SNP)) @FeargalDalton
  • Allan Faulds (Scottish Green Party) @AFaulds
  • Matt McGrath (Scottish Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)
  • Maggie McTernan (Glasgow Labour) @maggsmct
  • Deirdre Parkinson (Scottish National Party (SNP)) @DDParky
  • James Douglas Speirs (Scottish Liberal Democrats)

Ward 13 Garscadden and Scotstounhill (made up of Yoker, Scotstoun and Knightswood community council areas)

  • Gisela Allen (UKIP)
  • Bill Butler (Glasgow Labour) @Labour_Bill
  • Samuel Cook (Tommy Sheridan – Solidarity – Hope Over Fear)
  • Michael Cullen (Scottish National Party (SNP)) @michaelSNP13
  • Chris Cunningham (Scottish National Party (SNP)) @dunglasschris
  • Gillian Macdonald (Scottish Green Party) @greengillm
  • Eva Murray (Glasgow Labour) @EvaCMurray
  • Tariq Parvez (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) @Parveztariq
  • Roza Salih (Scottish National Party (SNP)) @rozasalih
  • David Walker (Scottish Liberal Democrats)